The First Chapter of The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters is Now Available Online

Read Chapter 1

Today Waterstones published online the opening chapter of Sarah Waters’ The Paying Guests, due for release on the 28th August. I engorged it. Within 15 minutes I had read it all, and now I want to know how the rest of the story will unfold. I am most curious how Frances and Mrs Barber’s relationship develops, particularly due to Frances hoping Mrs Barber was still dressed in her silk kimono toward the end of the chapter.

I shall say no more, but go forth and read! I can barely wait the next 17 days until I can read it (assuming it fits through the letter box!), because while I pre-ordered my copy, I am working away until the 30th August.

Leave a Reply

