Daily Prompt – A Bookish Choice

Today’s Daily Prompt poses a question:

A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?

This is, for me, an easy choice to make. As a literature graduate I have studied texts that are obscure and I only came across doing my degree: Zofloya is the most obvious example here. I have also studied novels such as Fifty Shades of Grey. The choice here seems to me that we are to either craft something we can seek pride in, few will appreciate, but those that do know their onions or we can write the next Twilight and enter into celebrity from fiction. For me, this is an easy choice. I would much rather that my work was niche and few chose to read it, but was praised for its merit, than write a novel that would lead to immediate fame and popularity. The words that I place upon the  page when crafting my work are there because I see my writing as a craft, and art form. I write because I have to, it is like breathing to me, my life source. To write with the intention of pleasing many would sell out on my core beliefs, simply because I cannot bring pleasure to many talking about the difficult situations that people end up in. Not everyone wants to read a lesbian/ bisexual novel, but that is what I want to write. So dearest literary-minded witch, flick your wand and lead me into obscurity.

One thought on “Daily Prompt – A Bookish Choice

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: A Bookish Choice | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

