Blue is the Warmest Color

As a treat to myself for getting through the stresses of my research project (so proud of that by the way, can only hope that it gets a good mark!) and my Victorian Poetry exam (total disaster!) I bought myself Julie Maroh’s graphic novel Blue is the Warmest Color. It has received a fair deal of attention in the media due to last year’s movie adaptation and the controversies that came with it, so I figured that I had to read it, and I have enough friends that would love to get their hands on it that it is an essential item for my bulging bookcase!

Clementine is a mesmerising character, who is drawn to Emma, a blue haired, ‘alternative’ woman. Identifying initially as a straight woman, Clementine doesn’t feel the same way about her boyfriend as he feels for her, and the feelings towards the initially mysterious blue haired woman stir up internal confusion, as she struggles to accept that she may not be the “normal” heterosexual teenager that she thought she was. 

Elegant as the narrative is, the artwork is beautiful, especially the way that Maroh presents the pair’s sexual encounters, particularly her use of colour.

I have nothing but praise for the novel. I don’t want to say too much as the life that Clementine ends up taking deviates so far from what she would expect that even an ounce of plot share could ruin the experience. I went in blind, and I recommend any new reader of the book does too.

Leave a Reply

