Hello my final semester!

So I am in my final semester as an undergraduate English Literature student at Edge Hill University. And I am scared!

I’m not going to lie about how I feel about all of this, I am under immense pressure (from myself) to do well, and am at the point at which I need to decide if I am going to do an MA next year, or get a job. My approach to most things is (as ever): why not both? And I’m right, I could do both if I did them part-time. I mean, it isn’t like I haven’t had a multitude of jobs whilst studying:

  • Student Guide (possibly my favourite)
  • Team Member at Mecca Bingo – I have to say, I loved this job, but it was 20 miles away and I don’t drive and the 6 hour turnaround I had each night before uni was just not ideal.
  • Customer Service Advisor for UCAS – This job surprised me. I’m not a lover of phones, but working in a call centre definitely appeals to me now!

I’ve dabbled with Avon, but I couldn’t make it work around everything I wanted to do as a student, and when I became president of my university’s Feminist society roughly a year ago I decided to give it up. Before uni I was a general labourer. Which probably gives me one of the more diverse work experience lists going for a 21 year old.

So, plan’s for the semester:

  • Get ahead on all assignments. As much as possible.
  • Society events – keep them going. What is Feminism?, I need feminism because… and FGM educational (updates of each will be posted on this darling blog!)
  • Submit some writing, pitch some articles and hopefully get published!
  • Get a first. (not a lot to ask really…)
  • Attend MA info session and have a proper think about whether I definitely want to do it and can afford it.
  • Get a job from May so that I can afford rent and food etc.
  • Keep blogging and not neglect this beautiful website – especially the ‘What I’m reading section’, which will be updated with a ‘Countdown to Sarah Waters’ series in which I re-read the entirety of Sarah Waters’ works before her new book arrives in Autumn.
  • Keep making lists.
  • Keep on top of volunteering too:  hopefully become a BeatBullying Life Mentor (I’ve applied, but requested LGBT training, so it may take a while to come through).
  • Polish up on French (near-fluency) and Russian.

I think that is enough for anyone to be getting on with!

Hopefully in a few weeks there will be an update indicating I have achieved something here!

Leave a Reply

